About Me

I'm Sarah

Thank you for stopping by! My name is Sarah. The short version about the Wine and Mommy Time mommy: I have a husband, two kids, and an 80-pound Pitbull who thinks he’s a lap dog.

My passion for wellness and healthy cooking goes way back. Our family has gone through some changes in the last couple of years that have made these things more important than ever.


In the summer of 2020, my husband started having major health issues. After a handful of doctor appointments and a lot of pain and suffering later, he was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis. Ulcerative colitis is an inflammatory bowel disorder that can be debilitating and lead to life-threatening complications. This peach of a disease has landed him in the hospital a handful of times since his diagnosis. It was clear to both of us that we needed to clean up our diet and start making some better choices.

I began a journey of doing tons of research putting aside what is traditionally thought of as healthy and learning a whole new way of life. My husband and I worked to rid our pantry and fridge of anything processed; things with gums, preservatives, fillers, and anything else that wreaks havoc on our bodies. We have transitioned to simple ingredients, always buying organic when possible, and making sure our meats and dairy are from grass-fed or pasture-raised sources. The recipes I make and share here are ones I use to nourish and keep my family healthy and happy. Many of them are also tasted and approved by my family, kids included.


I grew up in snowy Colorado where I was home-schooled for about half of my upbringing. For 5 years between the ages of 9 and 14, I rode horses every day, showed them competitively, and owned a few of my horses. I ate, breathed, and dreamed of horses. At 14, my horse at the time had to be put down for health reasons and my family relocated to California where my parents grew up and most of our family lived. My parents enrolled me in a Catholic high school, and I immediately went to college upon graduating. In 2012 I graduated with honors from a California State University with my bachelor’s degree. Graduate school was next on my list, but life had other things in store for me. I had my daughter in 2013 and became a working mom. My son came along almost 4 years later to the day in 2017.



Whenever somebody asks me what my hobbies are, I freeze. I’m a mom, I have a job… What are hobbies?! However, the answer is pretty simple. As much as I’ve grown and matured and even changed over the years, things I love have stayed pretty consistent. I love animals – Dogs and horses in particular. Nothing is better for my soul than making a tasty recipe to enjoy with my family, Taking beautiful photographs is something that brings my heart joy and may be the only artistic part of me that exists. Cooking healthy and nourishing meals for my family is my love language. And of course, a good glass of wine is something I feel strongly about if you didn’t gather that from the name of my website 


I continue to learn and evolve when it comes to learning about health and raising a family. Sharing things I have learned or cooked that could potentially be useful to someone else is one of my passions in life, right up there with a fantastic glass of wine. Thanks for joining me on my journey and letting me share with you!